Profession of Microbiology

Microbiome Researchers Win 2017 Massry Prize

The Massry Prize, awarded by the Meira and Shaul G. Massry Foundation, recognizes researchers who have made outstanding contributions to biomedical science and human health.  Three microbiome researchers were honored this year: Rob Knight, Norman Pace, and Jeffrey Gordon.  Not only does this highlight the excellent work done by these scientists, it also highlights the growing importance of microbiome research.

Norman Pace is a Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the University of Colorado at Boulder whose research was instrumental in the development of 16S rRNA gene amplicon sequencing, a common and powerful technique for classifying members of microbial communities.  Read more here.

Rob Knight is a professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of California at San Diego.  He is a founding member of the American Gut Project and the Earth Microbiome Project, and uses next-generation sequencing techniques, such as 16S rRNA gene amplicon sequencing, to investigate a stunningly diverse array of scientific questions about microbiomes.  Read more here.

Jeffrey Gordon is the Dr. Robert J. Glaser Distinguished University Professor at Washington University School of Medicine.  He is well known for using twin studies and animal models, including germ-free mice, to experimentally test the impact of different gut microbiome compositions.  Read more here.